DIY 3-Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

Lately, our pantry has been looking pretty dry, in more ways than one. Yes, there is a lot more “dry” items like beans, flour, sugar, spices, etc. But it’s been looking a little bare. Instead of having lots of processed foods, Jared has been on a huge health kick. Which is totally his prerogative: it just isn’t how I am used to cooking. So I have been trying to reform my cooking skills using lots of dry, raw items. But we don’t processed cookie or cake or baking mixes, so I have been searching high and low for simple, low ingredient recipes I can whip up with my dry pantry. I found a few promising ones and pinned them to my cooking board on Pinterest.

I had to modify the recipe I found because this is what the original ingredients had:

1 egg

1 cup white sugar

1 cup peanut butter

We did not have eggs. I had just used the last few to make dinner. So we had to think outside the box. Jared swore up and down that he read that you can substitute eggs with ground flax seeds (which we have!) so after a little research of how much flax to use in place of the egg and we were back in session! So my new recipe looked like:

1 tablespoon ground flax seed mixed with 3 tablespoons water

1 cup raw sugar

1 cup peanut butter (I did a little more than a cup just in case the flax seeds made it taste weird.)

Mix it all together and cook for 11 minutes at 350 in the oven. These cookies were very delicious. I just wish we would have used white sugar instead of raw sugar. Or I could have used maybe half a cup of raw sugar, because you could definitely taste the very big sugar granules. But hey! they weren’t awful, and we ate them all! Next time I will definitely try less sugar, or maybe even the right sugar.

As for the flax seeds, I could not even tell there were no eggs but rather seeds in its place! SERIOUSLY! If I, the pickiest of all picky eaters, could eat these cookies, then you know they are edible!

Try them out and shout out in the comments how they are!

Leave Me a Comment :)

