How to Clean Your Mac Keyboard

Super simple post right here! The easiest way to clean that mac keyboard is with one ingredient. Windex. I tried it and here’s the scoop:

Step 1: Turn off computer/keyboard by unplugging it or by downloading an app. I downloaded the app because I was far too lazy to power down the iMac. This app put me into “cleaning mode” where it wouldn’t type anything anywhere. It just gives you a blank screen and gives you the secret agent code to escape the app once you are finished.

Step 2: Obtain Windex and rag and/or Q-tips. I used a rag because we keep them with the cleaning supplies and I have not unpacked my Q-tips yet.

Step 3: (I would think this is obvious..but) DO NOT SPRAY DIRECTLY ON KEYBOARD. For the love of God, just don’t do this if you value your mac. Spray on the rag or Q-tips enough to get damp, but so it is dripping onto the keyboard.

Step 4: Clean those little keys until they are sparkling. This took little to no effort, except when cleaning the sides of the keys, because they wanted to get pushed down more than they wanted to get clean.

Step 5: Let dry for a few minutes and you are done. Escape “cleaning mode” or power your computer/keyboard back up and you are ready to use again!

I took some before and after pictures and I am not sure if you can tell a difference but I sure can!

Before:

IMG_20150316_133848

The left side is clean, while the right side is the “before”

IMG_20150316_133858

Look at those dirty keys!

IMG_20150316_133854

This whole side before cleaning

After:

IMG_20150316_134222

All clean ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_20150316_134230

Now they just sparkle!

Leave Me a Comment :)

