DIY Rose Petal Sugar Scrub

I have been itching to try out a sugar scrub I had seen on Pinterest ever since Valentines Day. I finally found some roses dead enough, but still alive enough to cut some up for this recipe. It is so hard (at least for me) to cut up roses. They are my favorite smell in the world and I love the soft feeling of the petals. The trick is to get the droopy ones. You know, the ones still alive but do not look pretty anymore.

*Tip: If you have flowers from your man, use those. Or hint subtly that you need some flowers to liven up the house. If neither of these are an option, go to Walmart or a place that will have retail flowers in bulk. These are the places that will put out roses in quantities usually of 1, 3, 6, 12, 24, the smaller quantities usually sell with extra fluff, but these are usually way cheaper and usually on sale! Go with those! You really only need one good rose for this recipe, but if you make more, you can always double the recipe, or you can even just double the amount of rose petals in this mixture. There is no wrong way to make this recipe. It’s foolproof!

Here’s what you need:

1.5 cups sugar

1/4 to 1/2 cup of baby oil

1 rose, de-petaled

1-2 tablespoons dawn dish soap (I used the normal blue kind, but I suggest the pink hand-renewal)

1 quart bowl for mixing

A seal-able container (I used a mason jar)

Stirring utensil (a fork worked just fine for me)

Scissors (for cutting the rose petals)

Prep: Start by measuring out the sugar into the quart bowl and use the fork to make sure all the clumps are out of the sugar. Next, cut up all the rose petals into tiny little pieces, there is no rhyme or reason to this, but the smaller pieces will go a long way as opposed to larger pieces. Mix the roses with the sugar. Slowly start adding the baby oil while continuing to mix, I realized the baby oil went a long way. But less oil makes it fluffy, while more oil smooths it out. I liked mine a little more smooth, test it out once or twice, you can always add more if it is still too rough.

 

I actually did not think to do this, but you can actually portion it out at this point before adding the soap, using a bit for a hand/body scrub and a bit for a lip scrub. Just make sure you divide it before adding the soap!

Once you found the consistency that you prefer, (and portioned out what you want to use as a hand/body scrub) add a tablespoon of dawn dish soap. The blue will be easily seen among the white sugar, so you know when it is all mixed, add more dish soap if needed. Now try it out .

I have never felt my hands this soft! I am so in love with this stuff and can’t wait to have my mom try it out too, just to make sure I am not being biased. What do you guys think? Has anyone tried this out or have their own sugar scrub recipe? Sound out in the comments!

2 thoughts on “DIY Rose Petal Sugar Scrub

Leave Me a Comment :)

